About the Board

Appointed by the President of the United States, the 12-member Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board was established by Congress to supervise the global Fulbright Program as authorized by the Fulbright-Hays Act of 1961.

Representing diverse facets of American society, Board members select students, scholars, teachers, and others from the United States and abroad to participate in Fulbright exchanges. In close relationship with the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. embassies, bilateral Fulbright Commissions in host countries and the U.S. Department of Education’s International and Foreign Language Office of Postsecondary Education, the Board prepares an annual report and promotes the Fulbright Program to audiences around the world. The Board also meets quarterly to establish policies for Fulbright selection and operating procedures.

FFSB Policy headings
Fulbright Program Policies

Policies and procedures that govern the Fulbright program, like program planning, participation, activities, and fundraising guidelines.

Meet the Board

The 12-member Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board is appointed by the President of the United States.

2016 FFSB Annual report cover
Annual Reports

Learn more about the state of the Fulbright Program around the globe.

E-mail: fsb@state.gov

Latest Conversations

Load more