Announcing the Recipients of the 2017 Emerging Young Leaders Award

May 5, 2017

On May 4, 2017 the U.S. Department of State honored a group of extraordinary young leaders with the Emerging Young Leaders Award. These inspiring youth from around the world will be recognized for their tenacity and courage to promote conflict resolution and prevent violence in their communities. Among other achievements, this year’s group has been instrumental in reducing crime, expanding civic engagement, improving education, and promoting interfaith dialogue within their communities.

After participating in advanced leadership training and meetings with U.S. government officials and non-governmental organizations, the honorees will travel to Austin, Texas. While in Austin, the group will participate in professional meetings and engage with their American counterparts. The young leaders will reconvene in Washington, D.C. to share project plans and explore future collaboration. Then, their program will continue in their home communities with mentoring and support through a virtual exchange.

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients!  

The 2017 Awardees:

Naomi Bugre – Malta

Chamathya Fernando – Sri Lanka

Raj Kumar – Pakistan

Quyên Lưu – Vietnam

Amel Mohandi – Algeria

Jahongir Olimov – Tajikistan

Noé Petitjean – Belgium

Moisés Salazar Vila – Peru

Hanna Tams – Jerusalem

Learn more about the program at You can also follow the conversation online with #EYLeaders and @ECAatState. Interested media should contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at