Two Fulbright Alumni Receive 2017 Nobel Prizes

October 17, 2017

The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs congratulates Fulbright Program alumni Dr. Michael Rosbash and Dr. Kip S. Thorne on their recent recognition as 2017 Nobel Laureates.

Dr. Rosbash received the 2017 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine, with Dr. Jeffrey C. Hall and Dr. Michael W. Young, for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm. As a 1965-1966 Fulbright U.S. Student to France, Rosbash conducted research in chemistry at the Institut de Biologie Physico-Chimique in Paris. Dr. Rosbash now serves as the Peter Gruber Endowed Chair in Neuroscience and Professor of Biology at Brandeis University and as an investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Dr. Thorne received the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics, with Dr. Rainer Weiss and Dr. Barry C. Barish, for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves.  In 1966, Dr. Thorne received a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award to France, where he taught theoretical physics at Les Houches Summer School of Theoretical Physics. He is now the Richard P. Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus at the California Institute of Technology.

Dr. Rosbash and Dr. Thorne are the 58th and 59th alumni of the Fulbright Program to receive Nobel Prizes. To see the complete list of Fulbright alumni Nobel Laureates, visit

Interested media should contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at Follow the Fulbright Program on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram using #Fulbright.

View related content by tag