Announcing the Recipients of the 2016 Emerging Young Leaders Award

April 14, 2016

On April 20, 2016 Assistant Secretary for Educational and Cultural Affairs Evan Ryan and Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs Richard Stengel honored a group of extraordinary young leaders with the Emerging Young Leaders Award. These inspiring youth from around the world were recognized for their tireless efforts to promote positive social change in their communities. Amongst other achievements, this year’s inaugural group has been instrumental in creating safe and positive environments for at-risk youth, helped to spearhead inter-ethnic and inter-faith dialogue and reconciliation, and promote democratic transition in their home countries. Congratulations to this year’s award recipients!  


2016 Emerging Young Leaders Award Ceremony #EYLeaders


The 2016 Awardees:

Basel Almadhoun – Palestinian Territories

Hillary Briffa – Malta

Jessel Recinos Fernandez – Honduras

Samuel Grzybowski – France

Asha Hassan – Kenya

Ahmad Shakib Mohsanyar – Afghanistan

Ahlem Nasraoui – Tunisia

Nino Nanitashvili – Georgia

Thinzar Shunlei Yi – Burma

Zulfirman Rahyantel – Indonesia

Learn more about the program at . You can also follow the conversation online with #EYLeaders and @ECAatState. Interested media should contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at

What is the Emerging Young Leaders Award?