Fulbright-Arctic Initiative Announces First Cohort

April 21, 2015

The State Department announced seventeen researchers from the Arctic Council nations, including the United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, as the inaugural cohort of the Fulbright Arctic Initiative. By engaging in collaborative thinking, analysis, problem-solving, and multi-disciplinary research over the next 18 months, the scholars will explore public-policy research questions and offer innovative solutions to the impact of climate change on the Arctic, particularly on the issues of water, energy, health, and infrastructure. 

The diverse group of scholars are specialists in a variety of disciplines ranging from geology and biology to law, sociology, global health, and art. Learn more about this first group of scholars here.

For more information on the program, visit the Fulbright-Arctic page.