Cultural Property Advisory Committee

Authority and Responsibilities

The Cultural Property Advisory Committee is established by Section 306 of the 1983 Convention on Cultural Property Implementation Act (PDF) ("the Act"), which also describes its specific functions, purpose, and procedures. The Committee is also established in accordance with the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (PDF), with the exceptions stipulated in Section 306 (h) of the Act.

The Committee's role is to advise the president (or his designee) on appropriate U.S. action in response to requests from State Parties for assistance in protecting their cultural heritage, pursuant to Article 9 of the 1970 UNESCO Convention (PDF). The Department of State – specifically the Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs – exercises the president's decision-making responsibilities under the Act. Meetings of the Committee may be convened to review a new request from a foreign government, to consider a proposal to extend an existing agreement, or to conduct reviews of existing agreements. The Committee provides its findings and recommendations to the Department, which are considered prior to a decision.

Technical and administrative support for the Committee is provided by the Cultural Heritage Center, to which all correspondence intended for the Committee should be sent.



The Committee is composed of 11 members appointed by the president to renewable three-year terms, with the following profiles:

  • 2 members represent the interests of museums (indicated with an 'M' in the list, below);
  • 3 members are expert in archaeology, anthropology, ethnology, or related fields ('A');
  • 3 members are expert in the international sale of cultural property ('T'); and
  • 3 members represent the interests of the general public ('P').

Members of the Committee are Special Employees of the Department of State, receive a security clearance, and may have access to confidential information. They are bound by the laws and ethical guidelines by which all Department employees abide.

Jeremy Sabloff
Chair, Museums
External Professor, Santa Fe Institute; Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Anthropology Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania
Santa Fe, NM
Lothar von Falkenhausen
Professor of Chinese Archaeology; Director of the East Asian Laboratory, Cotsen Institute of Archaeology
Los Angeles, CA
Rosemary Joyce
Professor of Anthropology, University of California, Berkeley
Pinole, CA
Nancy Wilkie
William H. Laird Professor of Classics, Anthropology, and the Liberal Arts, Emerita at Carleton College
Santa Fe, NM
Karol Wight
President and Executive Director, Corning Museum of Glass
Corning, NY
James W. Willis
International Trade
Founder and Owner, James Willis Tribal Art
San Francisco, CA
Dorit D. Straus
International Trade
Art and Insurance Advisor, Art and Insurance Advisory Services Inc.
New York, NY
John Frank
International Trade
Vice President for European Union Government Affairs, Microsoft
Brussels, Belgium
Adele Chatfield-Taylor
President Emerita, American Academy in Rome
New York, NY
James K. Reap
Professor and Graduate Coordinator, Masters of Historic Preservation program, University of Georgia
Athens, GA
Shannon Keller O’Loughlin
Chief of Staff, National Indian Gaming Commission
Clarksville, MD